Starting out as a Freelance groom

littl3lotti3

New User
Visit site
Hi I am thinking of starting up as a freelance groom. I currently work as a groom on a 16 horse yard. I am training for my bhs stages, currently don't have any but have 15years experience in the horse industry. Do I need my stages to become freelance? Need some advice on how to go about it? Do you suggest it is a good career to be in and on average what is the going rate? Would be very greatful for any help/advice given :) thanks in advance

Orangehorse

Visit site
I use a freelance on occasion, she has been self employed for over 30 years, as long as I have known her. She started off doing riding, and breaking and schooling, then only rode horses she knew well that weren't going to chuck her off, and now doesn't ride at all (since all the old reliables have died off or retired). I think to start with also she had a fairly reliable job in exercising racehorses locally so was able to do this as a core job, then just added more clients.

She does a lot of clipping, which is quite good as you can fit in journeys. She also does turnout and plaiting up for important events!

You need to be careful that you are not driving miles for half an hour's work, or at least factor it in to your charges.
She is totally, utterly reliable. I am not a fussy owner, so don't get too het up if they are turned out/fetched in a bit late, or a bit early, but I know that she will do the job and is also experienced enough if something awful happened and a vet was required.

One thing that I really like is that she always leaves a little note, even if it is to say "no problems." Once she noted that one horse hadn't eaten up their tea straight away. Leaving a note is always reassuring.

Farma

Visit site