Those of you who are 'self taught'...

Sarah1

Visit site
...how did you do it? Have you ever had any formal instruction or are you truly self taught? Do you think it makes you braver if not quite as 'technically correct'? Has it taken a lot longer time-wise to get to the same level as those with regular/correct/formal instruction? What level are you riding at?

General musings really, I'd be really interested to hear both sides actually :)

Thanks in advance :D

katiieking

Visit site
I would classify myself as kinda both?

I've had pony club lessons and riding lessons when I was beginning, I'm not 21 and go to a lesson maybe once every other month? If it's during the summer it would be a lot more because I'm competiting for my club and they provide them.

But I have never had a private lesson more than once a year and do not have weekly lessons like some people enjoy! So I would say I am a bit of both?

I think that I've actually improved more since I've been competing, and more experienced people will pass a comment, like "Sit up a wee bit more when that happens!" or even as simple as "You just came into it too fast!"! That's the kind of comments I pick up on, and use them to try and improve!

It's usually comments with a dig that make me improve, people arn't being mean, they think it's funny, so do I to be honest, but I also use it to improve;

"Could you get your hands any further up her neck?"
"Could you jump that from any further out?"
"Any higher up and you may as well just stand on her saddle!"
"Were you trying to jump it the wrong way round or were you just not paying attention?"

People thing that people are being mean to me, but it's usually from friends who I would classify as good riders, and they know I'm very thick skinned, I can take sarcasm no problem!

But yeah, kinda self taught, just taking on board every wee comment :)

JFTDWS

Visit site