Towing weight?

Mary jones

Visit site
I’m new to towing and now really confused...
So the cars maximum towing capacity is 2,000kgs. And the total weight of trailer + horses will be around 1,800kgs.
I’ve heard about the 85% rule so 85% of the trailers maximum is 1700kgs.
So it will be about 100kgs over.
is that okay?
I’ll only be towing short distances no longer than 30 minutes and no major hills or motorways. Could I get away with towing the two horses?

doodle

Visit site
I wouldn’t. I have no idea about the 85% thing but I would want a bigger safety net. It dosnt matter how long you are towing for.

Shay

Visit site
Hopefully ROG will be along in a minute - but I understood towing weight includes the weight in the vehicle. (That might be the source of your 85%?) You have already worked out you will be over the maximum towing weight for your vehicle.

It isn't so much if you will be caught - in fact you probably won't. It is about whether you are willing to put your horses (who I hope you care about) and your riders at risk. If you are over permiited weight you will have no valid insurance. Any rescue cover you might have may also be invalid. 30 mins or 3 hours- or 30 hours - if some twit breaks in front of you and you can't stop you will be just as dead.

For me - absolutely no.

fabbydo

Visit site
I think that's fine. The max weight is 2000kg and you're towing 1800kg so you're 200kg under. If the car couldn't tow 2000kg the manufacturer wouldn't say it could. However, this is probably something for ROG to answer!

doodle

Visit site
I still wouldn’t be happy with only 200kg spare. Have you put horses on a weight bridge? Weigh tapes quite often under estimate. It is not just about pulling then car also needs to be able to stop the trailer.

Mary jones

Visit site