Veteran showing bods, help a numpty get started!

milliepops

Wears headscarf aggressively
Visit site
Those of you who have followed Millie's antics over the years will be aware that she is on her last life after surgery on her sdft last year and consequently we have scaled back her workload to try and keep her trundling along for a bit longer. Last year it was suggested that we look into veteran showing as something to aim for as she's a busy mare who enjoys parties... so as she now seems to be pain-free and is standing up to a reasonable workload of hacking and easy schooling we are going to take the plunge.

I have no experience of showing whatsoever and no knowledge so treat me like a complete idiot.

Millie is 15hh, cob x WB and is 20 years old this year so fits the 'veteran' category of VHS showing.

I've looked at their schedules and there is a 'Spring Festival' at Summerhouse in April which is a good venue for us... is this going to be too much in at the deep end for a newbie? I'm not afraid of big shows as we've done plenty together in other disciplines but dunno if this is a big deal or not? http://veteran-horse-society.co.uk/new-spring-qualifiers-2017/

Do I need to pay up a membership with VHS or am I better off going as a non member and then signing up if we do OK?

And what classes should we do? I'm not up for inhand stuff, only ridden. There's a ridden veteran class, and then would she be best suited to hack/riding horse or the hunter class? Or should we not try and run before we can walk, and just do one class?!

Finally, the rule book suggests tweed or dark colour jackets are acceptable... is that true or should I actually sell a kidney to fund a tweed?

This is M stood up, old pic but shows how she's put together

15219471_1233014170069119_6307784517827987789_n.jp  g

and a short vid from yesterday, which was at the start of her ridden work last night so effectively not warmed up