Absolutely Terrible Day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crystal-Rio

Visit site
Hello everyone.

This is my first post.

I have been a lurker on HHO for a long time but made an account a few days ago, as I was going to ask for advice as to how to move my horse to a new yard. The reason that I was worrying is that he is a total stress head - he is a WB X TB and lived in the same home on a smallholding with 2 othr horses all his life before he came to me 15 months ago. He is highly strung in the extreme - does not do routine change AT ALL and if he finds himself without any other horses around him - in circumstances other than ridden or longreining work - he becomes positively dangerous. He has severe separation/anxiety issues.

I am not a novice and have owned horses for 18 years but he has stretched my ability to cope to the extreme.

After having him on the same yard - which I've been on for 15 years - not with this horse obviously, but its always been home to me for as long as I can remember - we had the awful news 5 weeks ago that the yard was closing. Rio also has a bad back, so needs working either in ridden work or longreining, at least 6 days a week. This limited my options because there is a massively severe shortage of yard with good grazing and an indoor school - a must in the winter with a horse like him - is for me.

I was fortunate in the extreme to be offered a box at a yard that is nearer to home, cheaper, with a huge indoor and about 15 miles of hacking 3 weeks ago. Bearing in mind I knew how awful he was at having his routine changed, I have been stressed to the extreme. Boxes at this yard are like hen's teeth, so I was lucky in the extreme to be offered it.