Confrontantial livery

merlo89

Visit site
As the title really.

A situation happened this evening which has left me upset. I will not go into details of the incident other than I was mainly to blame but could not have predicted or prepared.

The other livery then stormed into the block following the incident and proceeded to shout and belittle me in front of the YO and all the other liveries. I was so taken a back that I didn’t respond to other livery.

Am I silly in thinking YO should have at least stepped in to calm situation down? But also other livery should not have acted that way? (I am fairly new to livery yards as I have always been private beforehand)

Pearlsasinger

Up in the clouds
Visit site
I expect every-one was as surprised as you were and weren't sure what to do in the heat of the moment. If you know that you were mostly to blame, I think that you need to be the first one to make a move towards apologising in a calm, sensible manner and hope that every-one is able to move on from the incident.

milliepops

Wears headscarf aggressively
Visit site
it's so difficult as a livery, sometimes it feels like a YO or YM should act a certain way or deal with yard politics but when all is said and done, many are just normal people who have set up a yard and they have no more skill or training or knowledge on how to deal with people than the average person. and lots of us average people find tricky or sensitive conversations hard to do anyway.
That's not to put YOs down, but I think esp those of us who report to a manager at work possibly have expectations of management outside the work environment which are not relevant or not applicable?

so in an ideal world perhaps YO should indeed have told other livery to pipe down and discuss the issue in a more rational way, but tbf perhaps she was as shocked by her behaviour or the incident as you were, and was also taken aback? without any details it's hard to say, but just suggesting another way of looking at it.