Just being nosey.. what level rider do you think you are?

PinkCob

Visit site
I have started considering myself as a novice as although i've ridden since I was 4 I still cannot get my head around my balance.
I can't sit in rising trot I just bounce everywhere. -.- And therefore, I cannot ask for canter with my legs as i'm too busy bouncing around. ANYWAY..

What level would you class yourself?
Novice?
Higher?
Experianced?

Sorry just being nosey really! :)

Last edited:

Farma

Visit site
I would say experienced as I have lots of experience accumulated over the years and have ridden affiliated in all disciplines, however I may not always be the most competent rider :rolleyes: so not sure if experienced and competent necessarily go hand in hand!

PinkCob

Visit site
I think riding experiance comes into it. Like, how long you've ridden for. I also think that what you do makes you more experianced too.

ClobellsandBaubles

Visit site
Average in ability- good seat, reasonable balance and technique rides in a variety of environments on a wide variety of horses safely, can cope with bad/nappy behaviour bucking etc.
Novice in confidence- If I trust/know a horse I will happily do all manner of things jump anything etc. but my confidence is easily lost and it is a slow process to get it back which I find very frustrating as it holds me back massively :(

Mlini

Visit site
Well thats a tricky one.. Depends what you are comparing yourself to.

I wouldn't call myself a novice, but I am not experienced compared to some of you lot! Whereas, I am the most experienced rider on my yard.

I have ridden for about 15 years now, but there are many things that I am not experienced in. i.e. higher level competing etc...

AdorableAlice

Visit site
Horses never stop teaching us do they ? Some riders are more naturally talented than others. As long as we all stay safe and enjoy what we do does it matter what level we are ?