Laurx

Visit site
Hi all,
Looking for recommendations for what’s the best stirrup to buy. I‘m trying to find something that will help with lower leg stability, gives support and has good grip for general purpose and jumping?

I was looking into freejumps due to the grip they offer and the safety aspect of them for when showjumping/cross country or I’ve heard JIN stirrups and Avacello Arena AluPro stirrups are good too but I’m just not sure.. I’ve never tried any of them before, so I’m not sure if they’re worth the money or if they’re a hype or not?

What do you recommend?
Thank you!

milliepops

Wears headscarf aggressively
Visit site
Jins for me, I find them comfortable underfoot and a good weight to catch easily if you lose a pedal. you can get cheaper versions, HKM do some for instance. I think the Jins wear a bit better having had both. I think if you can, I would try some different kinds because what works for one person is horrible for another (I can't bear any kind of flexi stirrup for example).

Red-1

I used to be decisive, now I'm not so sure...
Visit site
Have a look at the threads/ articles on some Freejumps breaking. Maybe not as safe as you would think.

I have Sprenger ones. They did safety release me once when I came off backwards/sideways (horse slipped and sat down, then tried to twist to save herself). As I came over, I could see my foot still in the stirrup and the stirrup distort. Because it released I actually landed on my other foot and didn't even fall over. With a different stirrup I think my foot would have been trapped.

Laurx

Visit site
Have a look at the threads/ articles on some Freejumps breaking. Maybe not as safe as you would think.